Rearranging Shrine Space

This has been a labour of a few months now… illness, then coursework got in the way, then working to make up for having been unable to do many shifts because of the coursework…. but I’m back at this with a vengeance.

DSC_0373
How it looks now…

For the past four years the only consciousness with dedicated space on my altar has been my Mother. There was a half-hearted attempt at including ancestors, but that didn’t last. Partly because I feel awkward including my family in my Craft (some of it might interest Grandpa, but I feel some others would be less favourable…) but also because I didn’t really have the space for really making more altars and my focus at the time was entirely on exploring my relationship with Her.

Now I don’t exactly have space galore, but I have enough to expand a bit. She still has Her space that’s all Hers, but there’s now a shelf for Inanna-Ishtar and Ereshkigal, and a shelf for the Wyrd Sisters with space for storing offering dishes and cups and other bits and pieces…

I’m a student. Space is like gold dust!

DSC_0377[1]
Spectacularly rough outline of how it will hopefully look….
When I moved to the flat I’m in now the shelves that are now the shrines-to-be got ridiculously cluttered with all my witchy stuff. The top shelf is all set up, of course, but the others have random packs of incense sticks, blobs of wax, small jars I use as candle holders scattered everywhere. It’s taking a while to clear simply because there’s a lot to go through, and I’ve been clearing the rest of my room (ah, to one day live in a place of my own where my clutter can be spread across multiple rooms…)

To have a space where I can breathe and feel the Powers would be such a joy. And I can’t wait to get started making the objects that will represent Them: work that is creative and the start of a new conversation. Should this be that colour?

Each piece will have meaning behind it and- hopefully- the blessing of Whoever I made it for.

DSC_0372.

Leave a comment